New member w/new(to me)canoe

Texmullet

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I'm new to wooden canoes/kayaks. I'm having a gentleman build a kayak for my wife'd bday now(can tell you what site the build thread is on if its not against the rules)and I am about to start my first build. I came across this old canoe when I was talking to some friends and one of them knew about this wooden canoe hanging in a friend of a friends barn.....I made a spur of the moment buy and now am trying to identify. I read the how to find serial # sticky so I will look for that when I get home from work. Here are some pics. Thanks in advance.......Texmullet canoe5.jpgcanoe1.jpgcanoe3.jpgcanoe6.jpgcanoe2.jpg

It looks to be a nice Old Town. I'm certain someone here will be providing you with a build record shortly. It amazes me how quickly they do that. Looking at the pictures I'm wondering if the boats been fiberglassed? I also noticed from the pictures that the stem band looks like steel. The 1945 Otca that I restored had very similar looking stem bands that I ended up replacing with brass.

The restoration process is a lot of fun and a lot of work at the same time. It's very satisfying! This is a great site and resource as you go through the process of restoring your boat! Lots of helpful and knowledgeable people here!

Good luck with your restoration!
Rolf

Welcome to the WCHA forums--

OldTown 142350 is an 18 foot Guide model canoe that was finished June-August of 1945. It has red Western cedar planking, ash decks, ash thwarts, ash seats, half-ribs, and a keel. Originally it was painted guide special green. It was shipped to Beaumont, Texas, on September 18, 1945.