Taking lines off bow/stern for new stems

Baconweasel

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hello everyone...I'm new to the cedar/canvass game and I'm really happy to have found this site as I'm going to need all the advice I can get, and it looks like people here are happy to dish it out.

I became the owner of a 16' Peterborough last fall (my neighbour gave it to me in exchange for 6 custom paddles I made for him). The hull is in reasonably good shape, save the bow and stern.

The bow stem is non existent (I pulled it off with my fingers) and the stern stem has some rot just below the deck. So, I'm going to replace both completely, along with some ribs and planking.

My first task (I believe) is to replace the stems. My question is, what method do your recommend for taking lines off the existing stern stem in order to make a jig for bending and laminating new stems on?

Thanks in advance for the advice. I've already learned alot from skulking around the forums.