Bubbling on canvas

beeman86

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hi folks,

I am new to this wonderful site and the world of wood and canvas. After many years of coveting I finally picked up a Chestnut Fort (I believe). There were two broken ribs in front of the aft seat just on the
curve of the hull below the waterline. The ribs wanted to straighten at the break and as a result pushed outward separating the planks and leaving a bump on the outside of the hull. The canvas was not punctured

To decided to repair it until I re-canvas and replace the ribs.I used a tension strap with a padded block
to push the ribs almost back into position. Then I steamed and bent 1/8" ash strips, laminated them to
make 1/4 " strips and then epoxied and screwed them on top of the broken ribs. It worked very well
although it's not terribly pretty.

When I released the straps, I noticed that the canvas, which I suppose had been stretched by the
broken ribs had bubbled - a spot about 3" x 2" where it had been pushed out.

My question is - will my be canoe be ok through this fall and next summer when I plan to fix everything and re-canvas?Will it be prone to tear easier if hit?

Thanks!

Last edited:
You should probably be OK, but it depends upon how much the canvas has been weakened. Who knows, it may even have had its last canvas put on over the rib deformation? I'd just go paddling with a roll of duct tape in your bags and deal with it when and if the issue ever arises.

I agree.