1960s old town ?s

rmscustom

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I'm looking at buying this canoe. Owner thinks its a 1960s but is not sure. Can anybody give me some more info on it?
What year, model and what its worth in the current condition?
I dont know much about these but I'm assuming it needs to be re-canvased? What would that cost?
I'm a carpenter by trade and I'm pretty handy, is this something I could do by myself?
Is it useable in its current condition?
Whats it worth restored?
Thanks for any help

Attachments

• canoe3 big.jpg
    canoe3 big.jpg
    26.9 KB · Views: 378
  • canoe5 big.jpg
    canoe5 big.jpg
    40.4 KB · Views: 381
  • canoe1big.jpg
    canoe1big.jpg
    35.5 KB · Views: 392
  • canoe4big.jpg
    canoe4big.jpg
    45 KB · Views: 376
  • canoe6big.jpg
    canoe6big.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 401
  • canoe2big.jpg
    canoe2big.jpg
    32.2 KB · Views: 352
For a discussion on valuing a canoe, see:

http://forums.wcha.org/showthread.php?57-How-much-is-my-old-wooden-canoe-worth

From looking at these photos, I would guess that this canoe is probably almost useable in its current condition. The wood appears to be sound. A couple of coats of paint would improve appearances and likely would make the canoe water-tight. Smoothing the cracks in the underlying paint and making them invisible is pretty near impossible -- but new paint would improve appearances. The canoe would benefit from refinishing the interior, but (again, judging from these photos) that is probably not immediately necessary.

Removing old canvas, putting a new one on, then filling and repainting, are tasks not as difficult as they may seem, and are almost certainly within the capabilities of a carpenter who is pretty handy. There is lots of information on these tasks in these forums -- a sample:

Long list of links and discussion about repainting
http://forums.wcha.org/showthread.php?8906-Repaint-Tips

sanding or not (before painting a cracked surface)