Newbie To Forum And Potential Stripper Buyer

pcj5189

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hello All!

I'm a newbie to the forum and I am considering the purchase of a cedar strip canoe. I have come across one advertised that I am interested in. I haven't gone to look at it yet but I have some photos of the boat. It looks from the photos that the exterior hull is in good condition, but the interior and gunwales look like they are in not the best condition. Before I even go take a look at it I was wondering if those of you in the know could take a look at the pictures and point out any glaring problems that you see and offer any advice as to whether this looks like it is even worth taking a look at.

I am looking to actually use the boat for solo trips to the BWCA. I realize the boat needs some work and would like to take it on as a bit of a project and replace the gunwales and decks in the off season. However, I have read the threads regarding the difficulty of renovation vs. building from scratch and don't want to go down the rabbit hole and do a complete renovation. The owner says the interior is "dirty" but in good condition. It looks to me that there may be more than dirt involved. The first couple pictures were taken when the boat was new. The last four photos are as it sits today.

I love the aesthetics of the canoe vs. a kevlar and would like to put a bit of work into sprucing it up as long as the project is more cosmetic than doing a complete refurb. Any input as far as your opinion of the boat and/or what I should look for when I actually go take a look at the boat would be greatly appreciated. Also, if anyone is familiar with what pattern the boat is I would be interested to know that as well. It's a 15 1/2' solo that the seller acquired from a friend who built it from a kit. They don't know much about it.

Thanks everyone!

Attachments

• 00G0G_7bG4RsujCpS_600x450.jpg
    00G0G_7bG4RsujCpS_600x450.jpg
    28 KB · Views: 675
  • 00T0T_igX06Qgp7Fv_600x450.jpg