Newbie find a Canoe

GoodWood

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hello All, I am new to well....all of this. However I found an Old Wooden Canoe and suddenly I fell in love....Why? I dont know exactly, I guess I am a sucker for fine craftsmanship....I saw the owner of this Canoe throwing it away....so $30 later I brought her home. I gues shes in bad shape, but I dont think she deserved to be burned in a fire. The Brass tag reads Carleton Canoe Co... Can anyone tell me a bit about this? Is this canoe missing the bottom internal ribs that run longways or were they never there? SHe is about 17.5ft long and 35 inches at her widest. The serial number is either 66868 ...OR 89899? LOL every single number can be read the other way! But I think the first number to be correct.... What have I found here people....I just love this old thing and want to go paddling....thats all I know. Maybe I will get a composite canoe to paddle whilst I have this one torn apart to restore it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_3572.jpg
    IMG_3572.jpg
    455.1 KB · Views: 256
  • IMG_3573.jpg
    IMG_3573.jpg
    457.7 KB · Views: 294
  • IMG_3574.jpg
    IMG_3574.jpg
    406.7 KB · Views: 269
  • IMG_3575.jpg
    IMG_3575.jpg
    414.1 KB · Views: 237
  • IMG_3576.jpg
    IMG_3576.jpg
    314.6 KB · Views: 232
  • IMG_3577.jpg
    IMG_3577.jpg
    447 KB · Views: 251
Let me be the first-

Well, I think you just won the lottery. An Outstanding find. YOu will have great fun restoring it. WCHA is a great org and many people willing to help with questions as they arise. Brouse the site, get some books, create a plan welcome