Help planning canoe repairs?

Nathaniel

I have no experience with canoes and no real need for this one. I’ve been badly needing something to do with my hands, and I always thought it would be nice to fix up my grandfather's old canoe. I don’t want to start something I won’t do properly so I am interested in what you all think. What work could/should be done on this canoe? How much would it cost for materials? I am not worried about the project taking too many hours as long as I can finish it this summer on the weekends.

My grandfather used this canoe for many years prospecting in northern Ontario. My grandmother says it was 100 years old when he got it, which would be at least 25 years ago. That doesn’t seem likely to me but I know it isn’t new at least. My uncle said grandpa found it in some company warehouse when they were going to throw it out and saved it. I went over to where it’s stored the other day and took some pictures of the wear and tear. Couldn’t find any serial numbers etc, but I wasn’t really looking for that stuff. Interesting to see all the patch jobs that got done to it over the years. I have more pictures of little scrapes and areas where the fiber glass is degrading.
IMG_20240623_092625012.jpg
IMG_20240623_092726000.jpg
IMG_20240623_092819843.jpg
IMG_20240623_092842182.jpg
IMG_20240623_092950528.jpg
IMG_20240623_093131230.jpg
IMG_20240623_093157420.jpg
IMG_20240623_093333624.jpg
IMG_20240623_093611755.jpg
IMG_20240623_093808678.jpg

Hey, first off good job to your Uncle and Grandfather saving it regardless of what you do with it. Cant comment on specifics of your canoe but I will comment on learning new things and meeting new folks passionate about saving what you have. I have been building a workshop for a few years, scalvaging (scavenging/salvaging) canoes for a few years and in the mean time meeting great folks. One of my sons and I go to auctons to find old hand tool we restore so we can use them to restore these beauties'.