Help Me Make A Selection

donwells

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I am not new to woodworking but i am new to canoes even though i have spent some time on the water and i need some advice on what canoe would possibly be best for my intended use to build.

:) 1. first let me say that i am looking at the 16' or 17' Canadian or the 16' or 17' Origional Chestnut Prospector from CARRYING PLACE, BOAT WORKS I am also looking at the 16' or 17' Petersborough from bear mountain.

:) 2. The only thing i know about these three boats is the fact that i like the way they look on the water so that is the extent of the opinions i have because i dont know what else to consider.

:) 3. This canoe would only be used by me and my wife to fish in and mostly run around lakes and rivers but the water in the river could not be called rough just a little fast in places and possibly on the rare ocassion go camping or hunting.

4. I mentioned these 3 boats but i would like your advice and the pros and cons on them or any other canoes that i dont know about or considered as to what would be the best for the use that i described and the approximate out of pocket expense to put one of these in the water.

While I am a big fan of the Prospector for my purposes, mine aren't much like your's. If you want a Chestnut that's a super stable fishing platform, try an Ogilvy, one of which I also have. Developed for New Brunswick fishing guides, it as untippable as a canoe can be, sans sponsons. If you want to flyfish from a canoe, its about as stable when you're standing in it as when you're sitting in it. I've poled and paddled standing up in it for many many miles. Its not as fast or agile as a Prospector, but its the best of its kind.