MischaErcevic

hey All,
I am a Student Boatbuilder from the Netherlands, and want to start building my first canoe. now i wanted to try and build a Courting Canoe, (since it seems that its dying out, having adult fun on the water)
the canoe I've found in question sits in the Canadian Canoe Museum, I've asked them for plan or measurment as building without seems a step too far for me. (I'll add a picture in the attachments) but The Museum told me they dont have, nor give out Plans.

sorry for the short story :)

my question here was, is there anyone that can help me find my direction a bit through the amounts of boats and names with the hope we can find a plan that might suit me for my first endeavor.
the parts that speak to me the most is the shape and form of the deck and the way the Bow and Keel are shaped.

thanks in advance
Mischa Ercevic

Quick edit, the canoe that matches the most and i found plans for are the;

Peterborough Canadien 16​

Rushton's IGO Canoe​

Attachments

• courtingcanoe.jpg
    courtingcanoe.jpg
    153.6 KB · Views: 62
Hi Mischa,

There have been attempts to define what a courting canoe is, but the simple definition is a canoe designed and/or used for courting. This usually means something fancy, something designed to impress. The Peterborough canoe in the photo you posted is a great example; others include cedar-canvas canoes often with long decking of mahogany, birdseye maple, or maybe some other nicer wood.

The first thing you need to decide upon is a canoe model, and it sounds like you're looking for a model for which plans already exist rather than making your own plans. Then, what will be your construction method? Cedar/canvas, lapstrake, cedar strip, or some other method? Once you have these things decided, you can design any special decking as you wish.