Hello WCHA

Kevin Dineen

Reading Canoe Books
Very happy to be here, so much more information about canoes on this forum than I ever thought I would find. Which is awesome.

I'm just getting into canoes and researching the craft. And hoping to figure out a way to construct one effectively very soon! If you've built one yourself what were the biggest challenges to pulling it off at home? What did your timeline look like?

Hopefully I can devise some plans soon and run them by the forum hahaha

Hey Kevin,
Any chance that you are a retired pro hockey player? Whalers?
Forgive.
It would help to understand your background with Wood and Canvas canoes in order to make some reasonable suggestions. Do you own one? Have you worked on one? Do you have wood working experience, a place to work, basic tools (table saw. router, cutoff saw, sander, clamps, lots of clamps etc.)?
You are here in New York somewhere. That suggests that you have access to wood, at least ash, oak, cherry...not necessarily white cedar.
If you are starting fresh, the WHCA Western NY Chapter might be worth reaching out to. Although they lean a bit hard into crafting, there are some skilled members who could help you get started. If nothing else, they can walk you through how to use WCHA resources and make introductions. They are currently in Paul Smiths at the annual assembly, but in a few days you should be able to get through.pshea802@gmail.com OR WCHA.Chapter1@gmail.com
A good way to learn is to jump right in and build. There are some of the premier builders who will allow you to build a boat in their shops. They provide instruction, materials and a form. It's a great way to start out. Several of them also offer access to their designs and will even kit a boat up for you.
There are so many ways to go at this. Personally, I like the ideal of starting out with a restoration. A restoration requires many of the same skills as a fresh build and possibly a bit more creativity.