Floatation compartments

erbinsky

Canoeist/Builder
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all ; I'm building a 16' stitch and glue canoe . The plans I'm following show the floatation compartments being airtight sealed by a bulkhead and the deck. A fine idea if you can be sure it's 100% waterproof. I'm not sure my building skills can garauntee that. Would floatation foam give a similiar amount of displacement? I've never used it before , how does it work and how much would I need? Thanks...Jeff

Sorry this is long, but if you really want to understand the issues at play the subject gets a bit complex.
TB

Water weighs around 62 pounds per cubic foot (salt water and fresh water are slightly different, but 62 lbs. will be close enough for our purposes). So for every cubic foot of water we displace, we gain 62 lbs. of flotation power - less whatever we used to displace that water. If our cubic foot was air, it's virtually weightless and we gain the entire 62 lbs. of flotation power. If it was foam and that foam block weighed say 4 lbs. then we gain 58 lbs. of flotation. If the cubic foot was a 40 lb. chunk of solid wood or other material, it would only yield 22 lbs. of flotation (along with a rather heavy boat).

So if you fill the tank with foam, the amount of flotation it will yield will depend upon the density of that particular foam, with lighter, less-dense types of foam yielding slightly more flotation for a specific volume. Many foams (including some of the mix-and pour varieties) are classified by their density or weight for a given volume and you'll see some foams listed as "3 lb. foam", "4 Lb. foam", etc.