Unknown Chestnut. Project for a 20 year old Student?

NWL

Tripper
Hello all who read my topic! Im a new member but hopefully I can add to the boards here. Ill spare you from a long bio on how I love all that is canoeing and get down to the point.

Recently I was given a 16 foot Chestnut for next to nothing. Its beaten pretty bad I suppose and I would love to give it a proper rehab. Im bringing it up to a canoe builder In Algonquin Provincial Park I work with to give it a look over. Ill be spending the entire summer guiding up there so I wont really have any time to do any hard research on it myself. Im a student too so time is tight and money even more so during the next couple of months. My real hope is to get a good price for a rehab job and be in my boat ASAP. Im going to post some pictures of my boat. I looked for the serial number but couldn't find anything. All I know is that its a Chestnut and was built sometime in the 50's. Your advice, thoughts, criticism,etc...would be really appreciated. I love to talk canoe tripping so come at me with routes, rivers, gear, anything. Great to be here.

PS Im new to posting here so my apologies if I screw up posting pictures

-NWL

Attachments

• IMG_0210.JPG
    IMG_0210.JPG
    302.1 KB · Views: 366
  • IMG_0228.JPG
    IMG_0228.JPG
    282.3 KB · Views: 401
  • IMG_0232.JPG
    IMG_0232.JPG
    287.9 KB · Views: 356
  • IMG_0216.JPG
    IMG_0216.JPG
    335 KB · Views: 330
  • IMG_0237.jpg
    IMG_0237.jpg
    194.3 KB · Views: 354
  • IMG_0219.JPG
    IMG_0219.JPG
    305 KB · Views: 333
More pictures

Attachments

• IMG_0231.JPG
    IMG_0231.JPG
    351 KB · Views: 296
  • IMG_0229.JPG
    IMG_0229.JPG
    283.6 KB · Views: 290
  • IMG_0226.jpg
    IMG_0226.jpg
    302.9 KB · Views: 311
  • IMG_0230.JPG
    IMG_0230.JPG
    346.1 KB · Views: 290
  • IMG_0232.JPG
    IMG_0232.JPG
    287.9 KB · Views: 286
  • IMG_0225.JPG
    IMG_0225.JPG
    308.8 KB · Views: 296