What do you make of this? It is not Mars!

geolang

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hello forum!

I have a wood-canvas canoe purchased this past summer. It started out by puddling water in the centre and about three feet either way from the amidships. I did notice the paint was crackled when I bought it, but with a beautiful interior and reasonable price, decide to go ahead. Eventually, upon the 3rd or 4th paddle and afterwards, it was always dry.

Today, Oct. 1, I started sanding the crackle (I was curious), hoping that I wouldn't discover that the entire canvas needs to be replaced. I do plan on actively using this canoe, including in rapids, so although the aesthetic appeal is important to me, it is secondary to being a working canoe.
Screenshot 2024-10-01 at 5.13.58 PM.png

What do you make of this image?

I have some experience with this sort of thing.