Seliga Serial Number??

Prewar70

I came across a canoe, heart shaped decks, open gunwales, aluminum stems, and what appears to be the outline of a Seliga sticker on the front deck of the type that was used then. Serial number is 49-4118-16. I am almost certain it's a Seliga, but would appreciate anyone's help. Thanks.

I am by no means an expert on Joe's canoes, and I know that Joe varied his serial number format over the years. My best guess is that the serial number corresponds to the following:
49: year of build 1949
4: month of build, April
118: 118th canoe that Joe built or put a serial # on
16: length of the canoe, 16'
My Seliga is a 17' built in 1955 for the Sommers base and is 554199. The 16' "Scout" model was a popular model during the `40's, so that would correspond with the serial number you have. Joe started building the 17' footer in 1950. Build number 118 would correspond with the the time frame of 1949 too. Perhaps others can confirm this more closely though.
Hope this helps,
John Schnettler

Dan Lindberg has created an exhaustive summary of Seliga canoes and his spreadsheet indicates that the Seliga canoe with number 49 4 118 is a 16 foot long model which was the 13th one that he built in 1949. It was canoe number 118 and the actual canoe number was 44. The original color was grey and the original buyer was Widjiwagan 5. It was ordered on 6/29/49 and bought by Bob Nankinell for Widgi. Dan often monitors this forum and may jump in with more information.

Benson

Hi Guys,

I've had a bit of communication with the poster off line.

The only thing I can add to Benson's comments is that early on the digit "4" between the year and canoe number represented a "double end" canoe, it was a bit odd as no other digit was used to represent other craft.

Prewar, did you manage to get the canoe?

Dan

I just listed my Seliga on ebay if you want to see some photos of it.

(note to moderator- if this post violates advertising policy please delete)

She's a beauty