seeking some guidance

Roger Young

display sample collector
About 10 years ago, I purchased an OT 18' sponsoned HW sailing canoe, made in 1949, originally a deep blue color, design 45. It originally went to California, where it was sparingly used in San Francisco Bay. A second owner then had it repainted a dark green and white (see first photo), and used it mostly to decorate his condo. That's how it looked when I came upon it. In the ensuing years, the paint has cracked rather badly, and I haven't used it much (see second photo). The interior, however, is nearly pristine. I felt it was time to take on the challenge of cleaning up the exterior paint. I have refurbished models, but this is my first time tackling a full-size project. I seem to be running into a decisive moment in this challenge, and thought I'd ask the experts for other opinions on how to proceed.

I've done a few hours of sanding, trying to get down through what I thought was a thick, heavy coat of green re-paint to find a proper base (see photo 3). It appears, however, that the earlier 'fix' mostly consisted of putting a 'filler' coat over the original paint. As I have discovered a dark blue, which matches the original build sheet, it seems the canoe still wears its original canvas and paint. There do not seem to be any tears or badly worn places. Photos 4 and 5 demonstrate what I believe I have encountered - original canvas with original dark blue paint, followed by what seems to be a body filler, possibly a dark grey primer, then the latest coat of dark green. I have been using an RO sander with 80 grit, so far. This is the result of several hours, filling my garage with pounds of fine dust, and hopefully not too much in my lungs!!