Searching for info on Forest Service Canoe

John Anderson

Curious about Wooden Canoes
We own an 18' wood and canvas canoe stamped with the serial number USFS 115804. We've owned this mint condition canoe since 1981 and know that it was bought from the USFS and was used for Boy Scout training from (at least) the early 1960s in the Brainerd, MN, area, since I was one of those Scouts. I would estimate that it was built in the 1930s or 1940s, but am not absolutely certain that it is an Old Town. Maybe a Shell Lake? It's red, and we are wondering if it was originally green since it was owned by the USFS. I'm new to the arena of research, and would appreciate any information and/or paperwork, including additional resources, available on this canoe.

Many thanks,
John E. Anderson

A good source of information, when trying to determine the builder of a canoe, is the canoe ID section of the www.dragonflycanoe.com website. Go to the website, find the canoe ID page, and various builders are listed on the left. Click on "Old Town" or "Shell Lake" or "Thompson", or whichever builder you suspect your canoe may be, and compare to your boat. Different builders often have a distinctive short deck or other identifying factor.

Posting pictures here allows us to join in the chase! If you have pictures in your computer, scroll below to "manage attachments"--- click on that to get a browse box.

Kathy

USFS Canoe Mystery Continued

Kathryn,