Restoring an AE Flewelling 12 foot canoe?

ks7

Curious about Wooden Canoes
A newbie here to wooden canoes. :)

I've recently met a neighbor who is beginning a project to restore an A.E. Flewelling 12 foot canoe. I've gone to take a look at the canoe. He has removed the fiberglass completely (I asked him to save a piece to inspect it and it seems between 4 and 6 oz weave). Before I found out about this project, he had done quite a bit already, smoothing surfaces with an RO and 50 grit (ouch), and inspecting and then removing the rotted rubrail and breasthooks. He is currently also removing the inwales (not as bad, but partly rotted).

The canoe appears to be plank on bent ribs. I have built an S&G sailboat and so I am familiar with epoxy and glassing. But I have no idea how much flex is normally to be expected in the bottom of a canoe of this build method. I can post pictures if they would be helpful. Some questions...

1- Is anyone familiar with this canoe and a proper restore method and materials?

2- Bottom flex... If I put x amount of weight in the center of the bottom, with the hull inverted, how far y should it normally flex without glass on it? With glass on it?

3- What is the normal weight glass used to cover the outside of a canoe such as this?

He is pressing on to do more work as this is a winter project. I already highly suggested that he no longer hit the bottom with that 50 grit, as the planks have lost some thickness already from it. Looks like copper nails (or brass?) were used throughout. I also had suggested only a light technique with 150 or 120 on and between the ribs inside, to remove flaking varnish and wood fibers, in an effort to retain as much material thickness as possible. He isn't looking for a museum showpiece, but hopes to have a useable painted glassed hull when completed, varnished interior.

Any answers to any of these questions would be greatly appreciated. :)