Restoration of a 1933 Old Town OTCA

Sudsmixer

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I thought I would start a thread and document my work on this beautiful piece of history. I have already learned tons from the forum and perhaps you all can help me avoid any disastrous mistakes.

First, I started out by pressure washing with my new 3000 psi pressure washer.

Joking, haha. No pressure washing.

The canoe had a literal 1/8 inch of compacted dirt from hanging in a garage for 50ish years. Soapy water and a brush and garden hose took off a bunch of it. No pictures of this, I didn't see the need.

Next, I started stripping what ever was on the outer hull. It was pitch black in color, very hard and very thick in some places and not so much in others. Varnish or shellac I assume ? Being a chemist, I used my special home made methylene chloride based stripper. It will dissolve anything including my gloves which I had to change 6 times in 2 hours. Don't worry. I have a respirator :)

It was about 1/3 done in the two hours I worked on it after work yesterday. There was a surprising amount of material removed. Like maybe 1/4 lb of material. The red cedar is beautiful and will be smooth as a baby's bottom when I give it a light sanding this weekend.

Here are a couple pictures showing the stripping in process. Dark areas are where the wet stripper is, and you can see the cedar cleaned off in the middle of the canoe.

The only question I have so far is: I am considering covering it with Dacron when the time comes. I have built 12+ large model aircraft, so I am really comfortable with heat shrinking material. Am I going to need to fill all the tack divots in the hull so they do not show?

Any thoughts or comments are welcome.

Attachments

• WP_20150902_005.jpg
    WP_20150902_005.jpg
    107.6 KB · Views: 334
  • WP_20150902_004.jpg
    WP_20150902_004.jpg
    68.7 KB · Views: 337