New paint job

Jay Magruder

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Okay, to set the scene, I am new to wood and canvas canoes. I have a 16' Faber, and have been having a blast learning and exploring the waterways of the Pacific Northwest this summer. I have accumulated light scratches on the canoe bottom exposing the primer, but not down to the canvas. So my question is what is the best process for repainting. I have purchased a quart of Epiphanes mono-urethane paint and have been told to rough up the existing surface to take the gloss off of the existing paint, clean with a tack cloth and paint. But how many coats should I apply. If more than one should the surface be lightly sanded again. Any advice is more than welcome, as I plan to do the job on Labor Day Weekend.

Start by getting a different paint.

Urethane is almost permanent. The old topside marine enamels are a better choice. Resuduals of silicone based waxes are problematic too. Using traditional materials insures the next restoration will doable without overcoming the space age stuff.

Wet sanding will smoothe out the old surface and help produce a better result. Wash and dry afterwards.

a few light coats, wet sanded, washed and dried in between should [produce nice results...

Remember each additional coat of paint increases the weight of the canoe.

Kirby is very popular, they're rumored to be Old Towns supplier.

Petitt from Rockaway, NJ is another.

Check out the local mom and pop marine store. The last time I paid $22.00 for a quart.

Interlux seems to be dropping their enamel in favor of urethanes.

Same at West Marine

paint

I use and prefer Kirby. BUT I have seen plain old oil based enamel tractor supply store paints work very well.
John Deere Green
Oliver Green, etc.

however, risking going aginst convention here. why would a urethane paint be bad on canvas? I understand and do not use any poly urethan varnish on wood. but canvas? Seems to me it would be fine. Especially if you already have it.