Floor Bolts for Canvasing Upside-Down

Scot T

LOVES Wooden Canoes
My new workshop is getting there and we are to the flooring stage. I'm relatively new to wood canvas canoe building/repairs but plan to canvas using the upside-down method I was taught. We used a couple truck bumpers but now with a new shop coming I am setting up properly (for me anyways). So I need a bit of advice on floor bolts.

Anyone have a recommendation on the minimum size of bolt to use, distance between the bolts (my fleet to be re-canvased are mainly 15' - 16' [one 12'6"] but in the future I hope to make a 17' or 18') and possible location (i.e. centered, off center, close to bench...)? The space is 20' x 30' with an average of about 3' +/- around three walls reserved for my beer cooler:D , bench, machines etc.

I know this is pretty much a personal preference so I'm not asking for a definitive answer, just some ideas that have worked for you and you are happy with. I’ve read Chris Merigold’s article and have studied the photos in the Seliga book, as well as others but I think it’s good to have as much experience as possible to draw from.

Any insights will be greatly appreciated.

Scot
Dave McDaniel has a really sweet set up in his shop. One I'm going to copy! I'll email him and ask if he will respond to this thread , maybe with some photos. Denis

If you go to the members and /or builders sites, look for Bill Clements site and if you email him, he has a great setup....Get my supplies from him and have seen his method.....Especially his stand that the canoe is on...It allows you to continue all the way at the right angle and no interruptions. I have copied his stand and use it myself....He also uses a small stool on rollers and has a place to keep his equipment so there are no interruptions for stock either.

I am upside down.

Or from that camp anyway, so here's what I do.