Construction technique

Jbeals

James
I am still learning about my cedar strip row boat, with the aircraft nose.

Sitting under my upside down boat, showing my Nephew the construction ribs and strips. The overhead lights shine through the space between the strips.
He noticed regularly spaced vertical dark lines between the strips.
I thought they were dirt just hanging there.
So we looked closer and slid a knife between the strips.
Tink, the knife stopped. It was metal. We crawled out and stood up to get a better look. Even closeup observation showed that they were brads.
And they only go through from one to another strip. And after a good long look, seemed to be only at the side transition/curve to the bottom.
All of the wood has shrunk and separated from the next piece.
I am wondering how common this technique was and if it will help me ID the maker and year made?
Any conjecture is welcome
Thanks
James

In the June, 1940 Mechanix Illustrated, there is an article with plans telling how to build a 15 foot canoe called Gypsy. The audience for Mechanix Illustrated was, of course, DIYers. Quoting from the article:

“While canoes have always had a greater appeal than perhaps any other type of boat . . . the though of having to steam and bend in the fifty some odd ribs necessary in their construction discourages most men from attempting to build one. there are no bent ribs in this fifteen-footer: edge-nailed strip construction is used with plywood bulkhead moulds; the same type construction as is being so successfully used now aboard even large boats to give all the lightness, strength and grace associated with round-bilged boats without the trouble of steam bending.”

The article calls for cutting pre-milled ¼” x 1 1/2” lattice strips into two strips each ¼” x ¾”, or “f stock must be gotten out specially have strips slightly thicker, 3/8-in., to make for easier nailing.”

The article calls for nailing every 6 inches using very thin galvanized wire nails or brads.