considering a wood/canvas canoe

WedgewoodK

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hello All,
I have an opportunity to purchase what I believe may be a Chestnut Deer in excellent condition at a good price. This is probably the closest I'll come to owning a Chestnut Pal.
The practical side of me wants a better handling solo boat than my fiberglass Navarro loon 17. The romantic in me wants this boat for the aesthetics and pride of ownership. I hesitate because I have no experience with wood and canvas canoes.
The information I find online tells me that wood/canvas canoes are more durable than most people think. With no experience, I really don't know what that means. Since this would be a flat water boat, my biggest concern I suppose, would be abrasion resistence. Is one piece of granite sticking out of the mud going to ruin my canoe?
I would very much appreciate it if you guy's would share your expertise on what it's really like to take one of these boats out to the average lake and go for a paddle.

Thanks in Advance
Rob

Last edited:
Hi Rob-- The simple answer to your question involves pointing out that there are wood/canvas and all-wood canoes that are over 100 years old and still in use.

Should a wood/canvas meet under-water granite or woody snag and sustain a huge hole, it can be repaired... it can be brought back to original indefinitely. Lesser damage might involve a simple touch-up.

If there's a WCHA chapter nearby, you might want to contact them and join them for a paddle... try out a wood/canvas and your uncertainty may disappear in an afternoon!

Kathy

Tough