Canoe identification help please

andyjlong

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hi, I am new to all this so bear with. I have found an old wooden canoe with a fiberglass skin. Looks to me like an Old town that has been repaired years ago in a not so beautiful way but still has the right look. Has all the right things but the aluminium stem band throws me. I have rehabed it to look like the classic green canoe but it still intruiges me. I have looked at the numbers on the stem reads as best I can tell is 8 3626 17 . Does this make sense to any one? I would like to find out who this canoe is. Please help.Andy

Hi Andy-- You need to post pictures of the canoe for us to have any idea what it is. The serial number format is not consistent with Old Town. There are existing records for only a very few of the old canoe companies, so exact dates of manufacture are impossible in most cases... but many here may be able to figure out what you have from a picture.

Because there are so many Old Town canoes, it's commonly believed that any wood/canvas canoe is an Old Town... but there were hundreds of builders in Maine alone.

A nice picture of the deck is a good place to start... and a profile of the bow... and seats and ribs (are the ribs tapered?) and picture of the stem.

An Old Town serial number would appear on both stems, and would be 5-6 numbers followed by a space and the canoe's length. With a six digit s/n, the initial number would be a "1".

Have you begun removing the fiberglass? Lots of tips here for all aspects of canoe restoration, by using the "search" function above. Also some YouTube videos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXILZU6Jm-s

Kathy