Anybody Know What This Is?

Bradford Wyman

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hello All-

A friend sent me these pictures and asked if I could identify this canoe. I'm pretty new at this. Can you help me?

Thank you.

Attachments

• The Canoe.jpg
    The Canoe.jpg
    45.1 KB · Views: 611
  • Stern.jpg
    Stern.jpg
    34.5 KB · Views: 530
  • Deck.jpg
    Deck.jpg
    29.3 KB · Views: 527
  • Deck 2.jpg
    Deck 2.jpg
    22.2 KB · Views: 504
It's a Charles River courting canoe. There were many builders along the Charles, and it's sometimes possible to figure out which one built a particular canoe, or at least narrow it down. This one has a short deck, which can help narrow down who may have built it.

There's interesting information on the Charles River builders-- but don't be confused by the fact that Old Town had a canoe model they called "the Charles River"-- that's different-- but can confuse folks who use the "search" function (above) to locate information on these canoes.

I'll poke around and find some interesting old threads...

Kathy

Looks like a Kingsbury, Charles River builder.

The deck looks like one I have, and I have also attached a pic that had been posted on this site before that shows other Charles River builders decks.

I can't tell but I would think you have non-tapered ribs that are shaved to a thin tip that attach to the inwale.

Nice canoe,

Paul

Attachments

• decks.jpg
    decks.jpg
    71.9 KB · Views: 465
  • Charlesriver17'2.jpg
    Charlesriver17'2.jpg
    386 KB · Views: 442
  • Charlesriver17'.jpg
    Charlesriver17'.jpg
    387.9 KB · Views: 429
  • IM000991.jpg
    IM000991.jpg
    90.6 KB · Views: 438
Hmmm...

Thanks for your interest in my query.

I am impressed by the similarity of the Kingsbury deck pictures posted by Paul. The canoe is on the east coast (NH), so I assume that it is not a Monohan.

I guess I'll go with a tentative call for Kingsbury unless/until someone comes up with more definitive information.

Brad