Wide Board Project

canoebuildermark

student of canoes
Lately I've been working on a Wide Board and Batten project, I thought some of you might be interested in some pictures.
It has four basswood strips per side, the widest strip measures six inches wide amidship. The ribs and battens are 3/8"x3/4" half round oak.
This is my first attempt at a wide board, construction is going smoothly for the most part.
Next comes the gunwales, outer stems, and decks.

Mark Morrall

Attachments

• wb inside center.JPG
    wb inside center.JPG
    135.5 KB · Views: 761
  • wb inside stem.JPG
    wb inside stem.JPG
    163.9 KB · Views: 802
  • wb long shot.jpg
    wb long shot.jpg
    90.1 KB · Views: 829
  • wb outside end.JPG
    wb outside end.JPG
    137.7 KB · Views: 799
Wow, it looks GREAT! How did you go about deciding the planking arrangement? What wood did you use for planking, basswood or white cedar? Again, it looks great.

Mark

Thanks Mark.
The width of the rough stock I had decided it was going to have four boards per side. I would have liked to have tried only three, but the tree just wasn't going to allow it.
The keelson strips aren't tapered, I wanted them to be wide where they turned ninty degrees at the ends. The next two where measured out to allow the third strip to make the bulk of the curve of the bildge. I didn't want a seam at such a harsh bend. The top, or shear strip isn't tapered at all at the time it's put on, it's trimmed down to the finished shear line after the gunwales and the decks are installed.
The planking is Basswood, I can see now why it was originally used for "Wide Boards". By wetting the outside only, the thin board cups right around the curves of a canoe. I hope I can get my hands on more of it.

Mark

Nice Job!