Modifying/utilizing forms...

knehdn

knehdn
I have forms for a stripper.
How difficult would it be to use them to build a mould for a wood/canvas canoe?
The forms are for the 15' Ranger (a downsized Prospector).
Please and thank you.
Gabe

Well, I'm no expert, but I'd imagine they'd be usable, just maybe have to be trimmed down to account for the thicker form-sheathing, ribs, and planking used in W/C construction. Cedar strips are usually, what? about 1/4" thick? Building a W/C mold, you'd have to factor in that the sheathing is usually 3/4" thick, ribs are 5/16" thick, and then planking is 5/32" (metal bands account for some thickness too, I suppose, though I doubt 20 guage strips count for much). So the difference in thickness would be... well... just over an inch, if I'm doing my math correctly. So in order to get the same exterior hull shape and dimensions as your strip built boat, you'd have to trim each station down by just over an inch before building them into a mold. Hope this helps, and if it doesn't, hopefully it starts a conversation. Best of luck

quite possible

I should think it is very possible. If you don't account for the difference in thicknesses betwenn stripper and rib/plank all you'd have is a different design. OR--you could make an open style form. See past Journal article by--I think Alex comb.