Epoxy/graphite/silica bottom

garypete

LOVES Wooden Canoes
I'm finishing up a 16' Prospector that will be used occasionally for whitewater. It will have a shoe keel and a graphite/epoxy/silica layer below the waterline. Then I'll paint over the black layer with 2-part white epoxy paint. Any problems with getting epoxy paint to adhere to a graphite/epoxy base?

I'm out of the colloidal silica that I've used in the past to add to the graphite/epoxy mix, and wondering if I can't just use the cheap silica sand sold for sweeping into the cracks of landscape pavers.

Hi Gary,

Good to see you here.

You sure are trying different things these days. :)

But this one, I have no experience using the graphite, other then seeing it on other folks canoes, but to be usefull, wouldn't the graghite have to be exposed to the rocks? It would seem that covering it up would be defeating the purpose of the grapgite. Again, no experience here, just thinking out loud.

Dan

I have used a graphite epoxy layer (for abrasion resistance), followed by the recommended primer, and a colour coat of paint. I have not had any adhesion problems.

There are some epoxy fillers that have certain paint adhesion problems, but I haven't had any with graphite powder as long as it's cleaned of any blush and properly sanded first. If I didn't have any colloidal silica on hand, I'd just use a graphite/epoxy mixture. It will be a bit softer than the same with a bit of colloidal silica added to harden it, but it''s still pretty tough stuff. The sand may also be made of silica, but it's in a very different form and I don't think it will do the same job. I'd be worried that I might be creating a finish that sticks on river rocks and ledges like crazy - when I'm actually trying to coat the boat with something slippery. It might also be a real bear to sand smooth and get ready for paint.