Debating buying my first Wood/Canvas canoe

bookpile

Hi,

First post and I first started thinking about buying one of these this morning so I'm new to everything. I sold my Old Town royalex a few years ago and have been looking for a new canoe with a goal of getting out on the water this year. Budget is pretty small.

I've always love the looks of wooden canoes and stumbled across this this morning:

Canoe Side.jpg

Canoe Underneath.jpg

I was stoked but just got off the phone with the seller and he disappointed me by saying it has been fiberglassed over but the canvas is still underneath. If it has the canvas underneath how difficult would it be to remove if I wanted to go back to all canvas? He also said it has a very small leak that doesn't affect anything. He said it is 14' long and has no maker's name on it.

I have a fully equipped wood shop so I should be able to handle minor damage. Asking price is $300 so I'm thinking I could get it to play around with unless the advice here is to run for the hills.

Thanks,

Travis

Travis,

That looks like a Trail Craft canoe. Trail Crafts were kit built boats. Value for a Trail Craft is typically minimal and with glass over the canvas (really?) I would not give an awful lot for it. At the risk of offending folks that do have these types of canoes, my suggestion is that for your first and likely only wood and canvas canoe you should try to start out with something better.
Removing the glass is an unpleasant job and replacing the canvas will cost you several hundred dollars in material plus your time. Unless you really have your heart set on this boat you might want to consider spending a bit more for a different one.
I'm not sure where you are located? Check your local Craigslist and see what turns up....or look at the classifieds on this site.
If you do buy it, good luck with it. Hopefully you can get it back into shape. If the glass really is over the canvas it may be easy to remove.