Clear coat

donwells

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I am going to take this canoe to a paint shop and have it shot with clear coat as the final finish instead of varnish.
I know that when they shoot clear coat over new paint that it is not sanded prior to this step.
My question is this, beings this is epoxy instead of paint can it be shot directly onto it or should i
still final sand the epoxy prior to them shooting the clear coat?

I'm no expert, but the guy who is spraying on the clear coat should know.
My concern is if your epoxy has a amine blush? That would need to be removed. I believe some use a wash to remove it. Acetone has been used by some with good results.

Sanding very lightly, say with 320grit, would provide Tooth to hold the clear coat.

Again talk to your painter !

Jim

All it takes to remove amine blush is a Scotchbrite pad and plain water. Adding other chemicals or solvents is more likely to contaminate the surface and inhibit the bond of anything you put over it than do any good.