Carleton canoe serial # search

W Isgett

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I am new to the WCHA forums, and own two modern canoes, but recently bought an old Carleton wood/canvas canoe at an auction. The serial number is struck in the keel on both ends and is fairly legible, even through layers of varnish. The serial number is 15163 18 or possibly 15168 18. If I were to strip off the old finish, I could probably tell for sure. The canoe is definitely 18feet long and is a Carleton, not Old Towne. It retains the original Carleton brass label and also has the typical grab handle at the bow that I have seen in photos of other Carletons. The Old Town factory gave me some info on the serial number(s) that I provided them, and I told them I had a Carleton, but I believe the info they gave me could be for an an Old Towne. The information they sent me shows it to be a 1911 model. I don't believe that my canoe is quite that old.

Could someone please help me with identifying this canoe? It is in very good shape, and really only seems to need cosmetic restoration. The wood and canvas are excellent in my opinion. Thank you very much.

There is a gap in the archived records for Carleton canoes between 15133 and 15193. Unfortunately 15163 and 15168 fall within that range. I will check further but it doesn't look good at this point. - Al