Advice sought

Bigdee

Hello,

Being brand new to this site, I'm not sure if this is the right forum for my question so if there is one more appropriate please direct me there. I have the chance to purchase a wood strip canoe as a project. Some of the fiberglass has air trapped and needs to be sanded and re-applied. I'm not terribly nervous about this part of the project (I've been screwing up woodworking projects for many years
and have reached the point where once in a while things turn out how I imagined).

My question is more about usage after I've completed the project. I'm from Minnesota and want to use the canoe for trips up to the
Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and am wondering/concerned about the durability of wood strip & fiberglass canoes used in a rugged wilderness area on trips with multiple portages, etc.

Any comments, advice or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Bigdee

Undoubtedly you may hear from other users. I do not have a cedar strip canoe. However there are folks that use them just fine in Temagami and in Wabakimi and in the rest of the boreal forest way farther north than Boundary Waters (and far less maintained)

Just do not let it blow away on portages (the number one reason for canoe damage) and float it before loading and unloading And of course be cautious before running any rapids.

Seems like a little bit of a repair kit( some glass and resin) taken on the trip might allay any anxiety.

What you have (and what I have one of) is basically a fiberglass canoe with a wood strip core. It'll hold up to abuse better than you think, although with the exterior being not painted, you'll see every ding & scratch. These aren't that big of a deal, unless you manage to breach the outer layers & let water into the wood.