1950's Old Town Sailing Canoe Attaching Gudgeons

Alfred J

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I'd like to add a rudder to a 1950's Old Town sailing canoe. I have 2 bronze gudgeons from a seller of parts foe vintage canoes. These don't slide on to the aea of the stern where they need. Should they be forced on, or are they the wrong size? and how are they attached? Rivets? Screws? through the skin of the canoe? I'm new at this! Thanks.

Welcome, Alfred!
You may need to open them up a little. Maybe a wedge of wood and a mallet to force them apart to fit. Might also need some heat to soften the brass. Not sure. Never had to open any up. The should be tight though without flopping around.
I’ve seen them fastened with rivets and screws. A look at your gudgeons should show you the way. If there is a countersunk hole, a screw would go there. If no countersink, then a rivet. The rivets can be made from a 3/16” diameter copper rod from the hardware store. Cut to length, then with a clinching iron for a backing the copper can be peened easily with a hammer. Peen both sides.

Thanks so much for this. The holes are not countersunk. My son-in-law has some skill with rivets. So, stupid question but here goes, the rivet goes right through the hull of the canoe?

the rivet goes right through the hull of the canoe?

If the canoe has outside stems then you can avoid going through the canvas as shown below on a canoe from the 1950s. Good luck,

Benson

IMG_5262.JPG

Last edited:
I appreciate this response, and that's a great photo! Unfortunately the canoe does not have outside stems. That would have been very nice.

HI Alfred,