Cedar Canoe Strip Rebuild - help with the strategy.

theredknight

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hi all,
I just got myself a Great Canadian Huron, a 15 or so foot cedar strip canoe which is in sore need of repair. I posted this in the forums at woodenboat.com and was told to come over here.

I myself have never done this but I'm a pretty decent woodworker and I share a woodshop on the farm with a master craftsman. He hasn't done much boat repair either but the two of us are handy folk, thats for sure.

So without further ado, here is my girlfriend holding the canoe (she's excited):

VIiWpl.jpg

Further, here is a diagram I made of the damage the canoe has sustained. The darker the color, the worse the damage, or more difficult to repair.

8c5Nk.png

From here, I've taken pictures of each one of the damaged pieces which I will put in subsequent posts. Any suggestions on how to do this, what tools to use or other links in the forum will be most helpful. I've been reading a lot and am learning a lot, but I'm superstitious and always want a real person giving me some of their own hands on wisdom before proceeding.

Thank you kindly!

Damage Point A - Crack on the side hull

The biggest problem of this canoe is a fairly large tear down the side of the hull. This tear goes through the fiberglass and through the cedar.

Here is the tear:

dhk7nl.jpg

jYnVHl.jpg

Repair Strategy
So, I'm looking at this: How to repair a cedar strip canoe and honestly haven't perused too much on these forums so any links are graciously appreciated.

Here is what I'm going to try as far as my steps:
  1. Cut away the Fiberglass
  2. Cut out the Cedar strips
  3. Cut replacement Cedar strips
  4. Glue Cedar strips into place
  5. Fix the Cedar strips to any ribs with nails
  6. Sand the Cedar strips nice and smooth
  7. Epoxy coat them (or put on Fiberglass patch and then epoxy coat that?)