Where to begin? Restoration of cedar n fiberglass custom canoe.

Almost-there

IMG_9316.jpeg
IMG_9336.jpeg
IMG_9335.jpeg
IMG_9332.jpeg
IMG_9333.jpeg
Hi,

This canoe was passed down to me by fate. I have no experience working with wood and fiberglass let alone restoring it.

This canoe was made in 1980. According to my research the fiberglass coating may be polyester resin because in several sections it is not tightly bonded to the underlying wood .

I’ve read that a good way to remove the fiberglass covering is with a hand held heat gun and a putty knife.

I’m assuming that the entire outside will need to be stripped clean and the bare wood sanded.

Could you please give me your suggestions on how to proceed with this project.

Thanks.

I hate to be discouraging but making a completely new canoe would probably be much less time, effort, and expense than trying to restore that one. It is probably not worth even considering this project unless there is a huge amount of sentimential value involved. A proper restoration would involve removing all of the questionable fiberglass (inside and outside), replacing any questionable wood, and then adding new fiberglass over everything. Good luck,

Benson

Last edited:
What Benson said. If that showed up at my shop, the answer would be to go buy two new ones, it'll be cheaper.

Thanks .
There is definitely some sentimental value here so the usual time/money is less important than usual.

This canoe was made as a reproduction of an American Indian design by a professor of environmental studies with whom I had personal acquaintance. So if it’s possible, I’d like to renew it so it can float again.

sounds like you feel a commitment. It certainly is a native style with that huge amount of rocker.
What you describe is probably the way to move forward. I would recommend stiff gloves and a pair of pliers to add to that heat gun removal process. From there, fix the broken and rotted stuff and re-glass it.