On Canvas, epoxy, and filler

nmerrill

Restoreist
Let me start by saying that I am new to the Canvas Wood Canoe world.
I recently acquired "The Book", and have read archives of this list for a while, but if there is some post out there that answers these questions, please point me to it!
I'm just curious about a few things....

So, the recent discourse in the Cecofil et al. project by Mike got me thinking about epoxy and glass (blame Todd). I understand that "Glassed" boats are a horror for several reasons, however, I still wonder about a few alternative ideas...
It seems that epoxy is really a superior "filler" compared to that used typically - or if not a filler, a finish. From what I have read, it seems that epoxy is frowned on due to bondage to the wood (expansion/contraction issues) and makes future recovering a nightmare. But it is harder, and rot proof - and makes what ever fabric it is impregnated into rot proof.

What if the bondage to the wood was eliminated? Seems that a coating of some sort (mould release solution) or an under layer, like a thin heat shrink material (window plastic?), could be used to keep the epoxy off the wood.

Additionally, once you are talking about using epoxy, why stick with canvas? Canvas is prone to soaking up water, and prone to rotting. Also, I suspect that canvas would use way to much epoxy to wet out, and result in an overly expensive and heavy boat. Why not use a light glass cloth or other suitable cloth? Does epoxy interact favorably with Dacron? Would Dacron impregnated with epoxy still exhibit explosive tearing?

As for flexibility, in my experience, thin layers of glass and epoxy are very flexible and resilient, though I am sure that certain epoxies are better than others.

I suppose that a thin layer of epoxied fabric might show some imperfections of the hull that a filled canvas wouldn't. A suitable underlayer might help there though.

BTW, I think that traditional materials are warranted in some/many situations!