Novice restoration questions

Andy M

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hello,
I am new to canoe restoration and hope to get a few answers. I'm beginning a restoration of an 18' guide model that was started right after Pearl Harbor. Interesting. I wonder if they were really thinking about that boat when they were constructing it? Kathryn was very kind in her words of encouragement and quick results with it's history. My goal for it is to get a boat I can use for tripping that will hold up to use and to get my feet wet. I have a Robertson that's been in my family for a long time that I would like to restore after this.

I have read lots of of information here but do not have Stelmok and Thurlow's book yet. I'm trying to make decisions on what I will attend to on this boat and what does not need to be fixed and then I'll order materials and the book.

My biggest questions have to with:
order of repairs
How to decide whether to replace ribs. 4 have cracks (as shown) and I want to decide whether to replace them.
How difficult is replacing inner rails and should I (one is cracked). The crack is right at the center thwart so epoxy may not be an option. I read that getting a boat with malady as a first timer can be hard.
The stern deck has a break right where the last stem band screw was.Replace or repair?

I think I'll stop there and wait to read the astounding comments sure to follow. Feel free to answer all, some or none.
Thanks in advance,
Andy

View attachment 16946View attachment 16947View attachment 16948View attachment 16949

Stelmok and Thurlow will be a big help to you. There's a great section in the back on restoration, but all the material on new construction is applicable to the restoration process as well.

Repairs:

- cracked ribs: consider backside rib repair. Search threads here. It is doable and produces a string repair that doesn't show. You'll have to judge, though, whether damage is severe enough that a backside repair is warranted