New kid on the block faced with decision...

Jimbo

LOVES Wooden Canoes
Hello There,
I posted this same message on the wood/canvas repair forum too, before I noticed this one. Sorry for duplicating! I have been a paddler of fiberglass, kevlar, etc. canoes for many years and have always loved wood/canvas canoes but never had the opp to own one. I'm a woodworker too and always wanted to tackle the restoration of a vintage canoe. All of a sudden there is one for sale nearby at a local "trading post". The beast, as I will call it, is 22 ft long and wood/canvas. Everything seems in place, but someone has literally painted the canvas olive drab and stencilied military "stars" on it...making it a "war" canoe I suppose. The shop owner received it in trade for a firearm, and said the man who traded it called it a "Richardson". Not much info on the web on this company...I was wondering if the 800.00 asking price was reasonable...and if the enormous size was an asset or detraction from the desirability of this canoe? Any help on history/ID would be appreciated too. Jimbo in Pennsylvania

Thake a look at Dan Millers site http://www.dragonflycanoe.com/id/index.html

Richardson bought Lakefield and renamed the company Richardson Aquacraft in the 1960's - but there didn't seem to be a boat that long. If it is a Richardson, it will have a unique planking pattern, according to Dan's guide. Lakefield had "war canoes" Dan or maybe Dick Persson may jump in.

Thanks for the reply. The canoe looks much older than the late sixties as the website describes...heck, I remember the late sixties! It's just one of those things you see, get infatuated with, and feel the urge to possess...even if I never paddled the thing on some great Canadian moose hunt...it is fun just to look at the workmanship, design, and imagine the places it might take you or have been.

Jimbo,