Installing the stem

Dave

Hello, I’m getting ready to start building my first cedar strip canoe!
I’ve been wanting to build one for a very long time and I finally have the time and space..
I’m a woodworker and have a home workshop with all the tools needed.
My plan is to build A 17’ Micmac using David Hazens book and plans.

I have a question I hope someone can help me with.
I’m not sure how to put on a stem.
Hazens Micmac plans show the cedar strips glued to each other at the
stem, forming what appears to be an end grain stem, with extra fiberglass cloth for strength.
I would like to add a hardwood stem, but can’t seem to find any direction on how to do that.
I’ve seen some that have screws in the front (later to be replaced by plugs).
I don’t think I want to do that.
Can I simply square off the cedar strips at the end and epoxy a bent hardwood stem on the cedar end grain?
Would this be strong enough? With extra strips of cloth?
Any help will be appreciated.
thanks!
Dave

PS: this boat will be used mostly in flat water, maybe some class 1.

The book to get, that is pretty much the bible of woodstrip canoes, is Canoecraft by Ted Moores. It is available through the bookstore here on the site, or at Amazon. It is a FAR better book than Hazens, which was written at the dawn of time.

I've built my boats without internal stems like you describe. I don't use internal stems. After stripping, I plane/sand back the strips flush with the bow and stern forms. I use a few laminations of 1/8" thick ash or mahogany to build up the outer stems to the desired thickness. I use thickened epoxy as the adhesive. Strapping tape and bungies are sufficient to hold everything in place until the epoxy dries. The stem is shaped in place once dried. Fiberglass is added over the stems when the hull is fiberglassed.

Kurt

May_2_stem-304x264.jpg

Different canoe. In case you are wondering, that's an anchor lock attached to the deck.

anchor_cleats-600x451.jpg

Last edited:
Stripper canoes