1950ish Peterborough(?) Cedar-strip Rowboat

greatgray

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I have started my next project - restoring the cedar-strip rowboat that my father-in-law purchased to use at his cabin in NW Ontario. The cabin was built in 1951 or 52 and I believe the boat was bought around the same time. It has been referred to at times as a Peterborough, but I have been using the boat for 36 years and the only name I ever saw on it was a "Drycraft" label on either side. Some pictures in her current state of disassembly are attached. Around 1995 I rescued her from the weeds that had begun to grow in her stem. The effort resulted in replacing her stems (in and out), deck and having a new transom built. My boat-working skills were rudimentary then (they are marginal now), so rather than trying to replace the rotted ribs in her bow, I installed some sister ribs in her bow along with replacing the bench seats and the various thwarts and knees. However, at the time I noticed that a number of the ship-lapped planks were split along the laps. My solution then was to simply caulk the splits. It worked for the last 15 years or so, however, the last couple of years it was pretty dicey whether my son would make it from the landing to our dock before the water was up to his knees.

Which brings me to today. I hope to complete work that will allow my 22 year old son to enjoy for the next 35 years when it will then be his turn to rejuvenate her. That primarily means I will be replacing better than 50% of the ribs and replanking the bottom where the laps are split.