Filler and Canvasing Question

Jeff Aslan

Hey, I'm a newbie restoring my great grandfather's 16' Chesnut.

Question 1) I was just wondering if anyone had some more information about the upside down canvasing method. I've read The Wood and Canvas Canoe, but there is no information about the upside down method. I noticed that there were some links that people were posting in past forums which no longer seem to work.

Question 2) I wanted to canvas and fill this weekend. The only problem is I need to move the canoe to Vermont two weeks after that. Will moving the canoe - which requires a tight strap across the hull and driving on the highway - upset the curing of the filler?

Your suggestions are much appreciated.

~Jeff

RE: upside down canvasing

I don’t claim to be an expert but have helped canvas a few by the upside down method. This is how it has been done at the museum at Havre de Grace, MD, by the Upper Chesapeake chapter.

Make sure the hull is very smooth because every lump will show thru after the canvas is stretched. Run you hands all over the hull, checking for roughness and proud tack heads. Correct problems.

You can estimate the height of the ‘sawhorses’ from the photo (maybe 36”). These have wheels on the bottom so they can move as the canvas is stretched. The canvas is laid over the hull, and evened out with approx. 2’ extra front and rear, and 4-6” hanging over each inwale at the center.

Wood pinch clamps are attached at each end. These shown have a ‘tongue and groove’ down thru the center, and steel eyes near the center which accepts a heavy bolt, and rope or chain gets hooked to this bolt. Notice additional C-clamps.

Rope on one end gets tied down low to a solid object, in this case a tree. On the other, end rope goes to a come-along winch, which is secured down low to another solid object, in this case a truck. (Sometimes the winch is dispensed with and the vehicle is used to pull on the canvas.)