bedding compound in tubes?

MikeCav

Restorer/Videographer
Anyone know if any of the suppliers sell oil based bedding compound in caulking-type tubes?

I seem to be rebedding a lot of keels lately, and I have wondered the same thing for a long time, Cavy......Great question!! The putty knife and can application is OK, but I kept thinking there has to be a better way.
Recently I took a bold step away from the traditional and status quo bedding compound and bought a Boat Life product called "Life-Caulk" from Jamestown Distributors.(I can hear the hissing!) The application was a dream!! It cleans up with acetone and is sandable and paintable after 7-10 days....sooner if wet cured with water.
I don't know how this is in the long term, but I'm lead to believe it will last many years.

I'm open for criticism of the use of this .....I'm still learning this business....aren't we all??

Regards to all!!
Dave

I might try to find some of the empty caulking tubes that Dan mentioned (DAN - Where?) - mix up some bedding with a bit of linseed to loosen it up a bit and see how it works.

they use to have the bedding compound in tubes but unless you used the whole tube within a couple of days the interior compound would harden and the rest of the tube was wasted. I could split the tube apart to get at the unharden stuff but that defeated the whole reason for the tube. I think other people had the same problem because the tubes were not around for very long.
The Life Caulk is a flexable glue which will glue your keel to the boat. Easy to use, very effective and good untill you want to remove the keel and then you have to cut off what may of still been a good keel.
Rollin

I think Rule makes a non adhesive be
dding compound as does SikaFlex.