To buy or not to buy?

belair0607

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I've come across an Old Town 1965 18ft OTCA with sponsons and small planking leaving the factory in Dark green canvas. The wood looks nice with some replacements but now covered with a blue gel coat fiberglass. At $1500 it seems reasonable but should I be concerned with the glass. Thanks I'm new to these and looking for wisdom whether to pull the trigger or keep looking.

I've dealt with 'glass that has been on for years and had to come off. The 'glass factory canoes I've seen look good to me. If you search for 'glass you will find much input on the problems with 'glass on w/c canoes. I put outwales on one canoe that had been 'glassed nicely and was light weight and sound, a fifty pounder circa 1920 that I liked alot. BUT, My preference would be to pass up a 'glassed w/c canoe. I've not seen yours and so can't really say. $1500. for a wood canoe in good condition is not a bad price. ON the other hand you could likely find a canvassed canoe in the same range. But you'll probably get the bug like the rest of us and will end up with other canoes so I'm not going to advise against or for. I will advise that you: Consider how you will use the canoe. Consider how you feel about sponsons. And consider how much weight you can handle.

Understand the "bug" thing ...

more than you know. That's why I have 7 antique cars and 3 boats!!! I plan to use this one as a "yacht tender" atop a 1946 Cabin Cruiser. I'll paddle up some shallows and creeks off the lake and might even rig with a sail or small outboard so the stability of the sponsons seemed like a good thing.
The weight pulling on and off the boat might be tough but could be helped mechanically but I won't have to carry it far so maybe not too big an issue.
Again thanks for any input.

yacht tender

Have you considered buying a yacht tender for your intended purpose?

http://www.rossbros.com/rednoframes.htm

Robert P. Ross
Ross Bros.
PO Box 60277