Tippicanoes

yankee2

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I just took my new, old, unrestored Chestnut 14 footer for a paddle on Walden Pond (Concord, MA; water temp. 40 degrees F), and was surprised at how tippy it is!

Now, I have been paddling canoes for some 50 years, but never I guess in a real canoe (read "one requiring some skill"). All of the several I've paddled have been relatively flat-bottomed and/or larger. They seem like rafts compared with this (my example does seem to have a somewhat more rounded bottom than others I've seen pictures of)! Also, this would be my first paddle of the season, which must contribute to the effect. At first I felt rather insecure, and stayed close to shore.

After a few minutes or so, however, I began to get used to it. I still feel more than a little nervous about moving around in the canoe, as it seems to roll at the slightest provocation, but I do expect that I just need to get used to what the boat demands, and I do want to get into faster and/or more efficient canoes. Still, I can't quite imagine sharing it with a less than experienced person or a large dog!

Do other people have the same experience?

Your experience pretty common. Most canoes made for the mass market have been built wide and with flat bottoms -- legitimate design components, but not the only acceptable ones, or even the best ones. People not used to canoes. A wide flat-bottomed canoe has considerable initial stability -- the canoe will not feel, and will not be, so"tippy." Many manufacturers feel that most people prefer such a canoe, and mass-market canoes are mostly designed this way. But in difficult conditions -- rough water, high winds -- such a canoe may have less final stability -- it may actually swamp or go over more readily than a canoe with am arched or rounded bottom.