Relaunching the Racine Chippewa

greatgray

Curious about Wooden Canoes
After months of start and stop, and a few weeks of furious work, I finally got the Racine Chippewa in the water today and she paddles like a dream. I am not an expert canoeist, but she seems really fast. This was confirmed by my son who spent two summers guiding for the Boy Scouts in the BWCA.

I was totally negligent in posting pictures (and I don't even seem to have any "before" shots), so I will post a few of the project along the way. I used Rollin's #10 treated canvas, but used the Ekofill alternative filler method detailed in the various other threads. It was very easy to complete, shaved weeks off the time to complete and seems to have created a nice surface for the marine epoxy. Although my painting skills need some refining (just could not get rid of the ridges between sections). It will give me something to work on over the winter.

Repairs included replacing the tips on all the outwales and the outer stems, replacing two broken ribs, repairing one cracked rib, and replacing one poorly installed forward rib (it appears that it was bent improperly in the original build and just not fixed), replacing about 15 feet of planking, repairing the center section of the starboard outwale, rebuilding the keel, and recaning the seats. One interesting thing I did was preserve the serial number. Of course, one of the broken ribs had the serial number. So I cut out the number from the old rib and inlaid it in the new rib. I worked out really well, I think.