Restoring OT Molitor with Fiberglassed hull

harney71

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I am new to canoe restorations, so I need some help with the process.

The fiberglass is generally in good shape(marred areas and a couple of small cracks) and the wood has no mechanical issues. The varnish is peeling and needs to be redone.

Can I strip the canoe entirely (remove old peeling varnish inside and out), lightly sand everything, skim coat expoxy over the fiberglassed areas (outside), and then varnish everything (inside and out)?

Also, if I do find some delamination of the fiberglass from the hull can I repair the fiberglass (injecting epoxy under or cut area for patch) or do I need to remove it and go with canvas?

Thanks!

Last edited:
In my humble opinion, glass is bad, and eventually, it'll separate from the hull in many places. Its ok when glass is on both sides, but when you have it on one side of cedar, you're asking for trouble. Thats why they still use canvas, so it can move around as the hull does, getting wet and dry over and over. Replace the canvas and strip out the interior and give her some new varnish. Perhaps find a local WCHA Chapter where someone can help you along.;)

another opinion .

If your canoe was factory 'glassed then I'd suggest you follow your plan of action. I agree with Chris that 'glass is bad for a wood/canvas type of construction, but I do make an exception for a factory 'glass job.

Harney,
Most of us really don't like fiberglass and advocate removing it. That said, it sounds like you have one of the hulls that OT shipped with glass. If you provide your SN, someone can confirm this for you.
I am not sure if they made the glassed Molitar with lighter planking. They did this on the Guides they glassed. Point being, it may not be possible to strip the glass and canvas from your boat. In which case, you need to settle for repairing it as best you can.