Trailer advice

normsims

Morris canoe fan
In Memoriam
I've bought a 16-foot all-wood rowboat, double ended, that weighs about 120 pounds. I need a trailer to haul it. I've heard that too much bouncing, or the wrong kind of support, can damage the hull. It's carvel planked, so the hull is smooth.

I've been looking at a lightweight Castlecraft trailer, but I have no experience with such things. I'd appreciate any advice from those who have used trailers for lightweight boats. Thanks!

http://www.castlecraft.com/sut-500-s.htm

Norm

Norm - I would definitely avoid the $375 Harbor Freight trailer. I have a used one, and I wouldn't be comfortable with it on a long, higher speed haul. The next concern with it is that there is some overall flex in the frame between the ball hitch and the rear roller. This might be true of any light-weight longer bed trailer, such as the Castlecraft, and I didn't like the vision of my Sebago tied firmly down in front and back with a roller in the middle flexing the keel area up and down as the trailer absorbed bumps.

What I did was this - I made two three foot long "walking beam" type supports with a roller on each end and a pivot bolt in the middle. I removed the rear and middle roller that came with the trailer and replaced them with the pivot on my beams. The inner ends of the beams are about three feet from each other. This means the keel is supported in four places, each three feet apart, which gives support over a keel length of twelve feet. I don't lash the bow down too tightly, so there is perhaps a little play at that end. Yes, the boat is still supported onto the trailer in two places (the beam pivots), but I like to think that as the trailer flexes, the vertical movement is distributed much more widely and evenly along the keel, and not just that single roller pounding away in the middle. So far, it seems to work satisfactorily. Al D

Denis,

It's roughly 1920 or earlier, built in East Sebago, Maine.

Norm

Attachments