New Guy needs help

58 Wagon

Hey Guys,

I'm a newbie from WI. I've been a long time lover of old stuff. I drive classic cars and live in a 1800's farmhouse. I've been looking for a antique canoe to go on top of my 1958 Chevy wagon for car shows and one that I can also take out on the lakes or rivers by my house. A co-worker mentioned that he had a late 1920's old town that he wanted to get rid of.

He brought me some pictures today. Sorry they're scans of printouts. I guess the canoe is 18 feet long, 36" wide, and has keel. He thought it might have a been a larger canoe used by guides. His father bought it back in the 1950's and the canvas was in rough shape so he fiber glassed over it and then painted it. The caning was replaced with clothes line. To me it looks like the holes were probably drilled out as well to get the clothes line through but he said they weren't.

The fiberglass is starting to peel away from the canvas so that would either have to be repaired or stripped off and restored properly with new canvas.

He said it weighs a lot. He's a big guy and can't lift it by itself. I'm not sure if that's from the fiberglass or if it was just a heavier duty model.

He's asking 900 dollars for it. I did some research last night and I think it should be about half of that or less due to condition. I know restored models are worth quite a bit but they probably coast more to restore than they bring when they sell if you factor in your time. Maybe I'm wrong. Let me know what you guys think.

Attachments

• 201306280748_Page_1.jpg
    201306280748_Page_1.jpg
    99.7 KB · Views: 330
  • 201306280748_Page_6.jpg
    201306280748_Page_6.jpg
    56.9 KB · Views: 311
  • 201306280748_Page_5.jpg
    201306280748_Page_5.jpg
    80.1 KB · Views: 298
  • 201306280748_Page_4.jpg
    201306280748_Page_4.jpg
    60.3 KB · Views: 314
  • 201306280748_Page_3.jpg
    201306280748_Page_3.jpg
    65.1 KB · Views: 323
  • 201306280748_Page_2.jpg
    201306280748_Page_2.jpg