Tiny Cracks in Fiberglass

Craven Moorehead

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hey there, I just picked up a Stowe Canoe with cedar and fiberglass construction and while the hull is in pretty nice shape with no leaking there is some minor cracking, like very fine spider web looking cracks.

I'm new to working with fiberglass so i don't know what is a problem and what isnt and how to fix etc.. but i do know that the previous owner had used marine paint to try and cover some of the cracks :rolleyes: and had coated the gunwales in some kind of Marine grade varnish.

I'd really like to clean this boat up and make it sparkly..I just don't know where to start. help please?:D

I did some more research and it looks like the cracks arent in the fiberglass but in the Gelcoat.

What i need help with is the Gelcoat. It appears that the Gelcoat was probably not waxed for many years and is beat by the sun and has some crazing and spider cracks. Can anyone point me to a resource to help me refinish the gelcoat please?

maybe now that i've got the problem right I can get an answer to point me there ;)

Craven,

The Stowe Canoe Company became part of the Mansfield/Allagash Canoe Company and I don't believe they are in business any longer. The gelcoat is a polyester resin product and if you check with local marine stores or do a search for the manufactures like americanmarine supply.com they have products that can fill these cracks but ultimately, you may have to paint it.

Good luck,

Ric

PS, don't use epoxy for this repair...

:) I have one also.....Mine also developed over the years the same spider webs in spots and some fine cracks here and there...I am in the process of 440 sanding it down right now...A friend of mine has suggested I use a special 2 part primer that is used for priming motor vehicles before painting..This primer is a filler and then is to be sanded all over before painting...I am having a special color mixed to matched the original STOWE stock green...