Perhaps a White?

Mark Neuzil

Paddler
deck.JPGserial plate.JPGlengthwise.JPG

The brass plate on this Morris-style canoe reads #241. There are only three numbers, which is stumping me. The seller says it has been in the family 20 years and that's all she knew about it. They lived in west-central Minnesota.

Last edited:
Wow. Even I'm excited and I'm just learning about Morris canoes. I'm laughing cause I did take a nice close look at the rail cap on the short deck. A very low number with a rectangular tag on the splayed stem. I zoomed in on the pic and it sure looks like there aren't any other numbers hiding.

Here's a link to the Morris S/N database if you haven't seen it. http://forums.wcha.org/showthread.php?8226-Morris-Ship-Dates

I've got no better photographs of the tag. And the fellow who looked at the boat after me bought it. I checked all the usual spots for serial numbers, names, decals, etc.

AHA! Buyer just emailed me. After scraping varnish, the real # is 12416, which makes it about a 1915 Morris, correct?

Dan, it was in Richfield. Had a cool bullet hole in the hull, which would have been heck to fix.

I passed on it because... Um... I didn't get the vibe when I saw it. Or something.

Morris c.1915, yes... and that orientation of the serial number plate is seen from about 1912-1916... one factory-worker's personal "stamp"!

If a Morris canoe has a low serial number (genuinely low and not as this one was) and the number is on a rectangular plate with clipped corners that is on the stem, then it's a Veazie Canoe Company canoe-- or a factory-direct Morris, possibly trimmed in hardwood other than mahogany (rather like CS grade, but the buyer could opt for mahogany trim). If the real number was 241 we could have suspected it was a Veazie and been able to put it in the c. 1912-1916 range because of the orientation of the plate.