Newby with a question on cherry wood

semper_fi

I'm a woodworker who has never built a boat or canoe. I have purchased the book "Building a strip Canoe" by Gil Gilpatrick. My question is on wood. I have an amount of dry cherry wood on hand and was wondering if it could be used for the strips on a canoe. I would think it would be very beautiful, if it would be practical to use it. I know it would add some weight, but other than that, could it be used?

SF

Certainly things like decks, thwarts and seats are routinely made using a much wider variety of hardwoods, but I'd imagine canoes have been crafted throughout history with just about every species imaginable.

As to the wisdom of it, I'll let more experienced builders weigh in.

It could be done, but it's certainly not the best idea you'll ever come up with. You run into too many potential problems, and/or things that don't make it a very good choice as a stripper core (weight, grain run-out, potentially poor bonding of the epoxy/fiberglass skins to hard dense wood, possible brittleness, hardness and unevenness when fairing the shape, etc., etc.). Good stripper core woods are light, stiff for their weight, straight-grained, easy to shape (mill, twist, carve, smooth, etc.) and absorb epoxy resin well to prevent delamination. Cherry wouldn't be very close to the top of that list, and other woods like cedar in particular, would simply be a lot more likely to make a good boat.